Women's Hoops Blog

Inane commentary on a game that deserves far better

Monday, April 23, 2007

Kentucky has a new coach. Morehead State coach Matthew Mitchell will be the program's first male coach in its 36-year history.

So say the articles.

Well, in an effort to be accurate, I'd like to set the record straight.

In 1902, the University of Kentucky women's basketball team was organized, despite objections from the women’s physical education director.

Want little more Kentucky women's basketball history?

Check out the Logan County Mohawks of 1913!

In 1921, the Kentucky High School Athletic Association (KHSAA) sponsored the first girls' basketball state championship. As early as 1922, there were fifty-one girls' teams participating in district tournaments.

In 1923 Ed Diddle, coach of Western Kentucky University’s men’s and women’s teams, defeated the Kentucky’s women’s team, coached by law school student A.B. “Happy” Chandler, to win the state women’s championship.

Mr. Chandler is... well.. a Mister. Sorry, Mr. Mitchell.

In 1924, the University of Kentucky abolished the women's basketball team.

Between 1926-1929, Audrey Whitlock Peterson's high school teams lost only five games. In 1932 they win the state championship, the last state tournament for girls for almost 40 years.

Just in case you were wondering how far women's basketball has had to travel for the simple right to play.